Within its walls, Grudziądz was laid out extremely regularly. A characteristic feature are the streets parallel to the Vistula, running along a north-south axis. The streets located next to the walls were of economic nature, while the transverse streets belonged to the subordinate ones. The town was divided into 18 narrow rectangular fields. The central point of the town was a rectangular Market Square measuring 54 × 70 m, with a town hall and a merchant’s house in the middle. There are 8 streets leading off from the Market Square, 2 from each corner: Szewska, Mickiewicza, Wieżowa, Długa, Kościelna, Prosta, Reja and Pańska. In the north-western corner of the Market Square, St. Nicholas Church was erected, while slightly to the north the so-called “Little Market” (today’s Starorynkowa Street) was built. An interesting curiosity is a tram line running through the narrow streets of the Old Town, including the Market Square. A ride through the narrow streets and the sharp curves will remain in every visitor’s memory…
Market Square, Grudziądz
The former Castle of the Teutonic Order was built around 1270–1299 on a high hill above the Vistula River and was considered one of the safest castles of the Order. It had an irregular ground plan with a free-standing round keep in the courtyard. The representative south wing contained the chapel, the refectory and the chapter house. The east and north wings had utility rooms, including a kitchen, a bakery, a brewery and a hospital. In the west wing were the dormitories of the monks and a toilet – the dansker. In the courtyard there was a 50-meter deep well. The remains of the castle have now been excavated and the former keep (“Klimek”) has been reconstructed as a viewing platform.
Zamkowa 9, 86-302 Grudziądz, Polen
Castle of the Teutonic Order, Grudziądz
Immediately following the founding of the town in 1248, the Franciscan Order settled in Neubrandenburg. The monastery church of St. John’s and the east wing are the oldest parts of the Franciscan monastery and were built in 1260. Around the beginning of the 15th century, the margravial court to the north was integrated in an extension. Today the monastery is home to the Regional Museum, which you can also explore digitally. Discover its permanent exhibition here.
Stargarder Straße 2, 17033 Neubrandenburg
Franciscan monastery, Neubrandenburg
The church district around the Hanseatic city of Lüneburg has numerous communities with a remarkable variety of Brick Gothic churches. These include Adendorf, Barskamp, Betzendorf, Dahlenburg, Embsen, Lüdersburg, Neetze, Radegast, Scharnebeck and Thomasburg. Inside the church St. Peter and Paul in Betzendorf you will find an exquisite medieval work of art: an impressive carved altar from the 15th century with numerous iconographic features.
Hinter der Kirche 1, 21386 Betzendorf